For Free

Morning with snow falling and Crosby in the ears. It always amazes me to experience where music can take one’s mind. Listening this morning transports me back over the last 45 years to those unexpected touch points and memories that are unique to the individual, to me. We each have those, and it is reassuring to realize and understand the ability of music to take us on those journeys. The places and people. The adventures and relationships and our growth along the way.

Just listening to David and Sarah Jarosz’s version of For Free and realizing how many years ago, as a young kid, the picture that this song set in my mind and how that has been with me for most of my life. How it has been something that I come back to time and again, to that street corner, hearing that clarinet. Hearing Joni’s voice and pondering the fame and the clarinet on that corner and remembering to soak it all in as we move along on our life’s path.

Thank you David for that and more.

Nathaniel Porter @nporter